SC to consider PIL challenging use of EVMs in polls
Credit: Representational image

Itanagar: The high-voltage electioneering for the simultaneous elections to the Assembly and the two Lok Sabha seats in Arunachal Pradesh came to an end on Tuesday evening.

The state goes to polls in a single phase on April 11 during which a total of 7,94,162 voters, including 4, 01,601 women, would exercise their franchise and decide the fate of 181 Assembly and 12 Lok Sabha candidates in 2,202 polling stations spread across the frontier state.

Of the total 60 assembly seats up for grabs, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already won three seats uncontested.

The winners are Phurpa Tsering from Dirang (West Kameng district), Kento Jini from Along East (West Siang district) and Taba Tedir from Yachuli (Lower Subansiri) constituencies.

Besides this, the BJP has fielded candidates in all the remaining 57 Assembly seats whereas the opposition Congress is contesting in 46 seats.

The National People’s Party (NPP), Janata Dal United (JDU), Janata Dal Secular and All India Party, which are contesting the polls for the first time in Arunachal, have fielded 30, 15, 12 and one candidate, respectively. People’s Party of Arunachal, the lone regional party in the state, has nine candidates representing it while there are also 11 independent aspirants in the fray for the Assembly elections.

In terms of Lok Sabha, for which Arunachal has two seats, a total of seven candidates including one woman are trying their luck in the Arunachal West Parliamentary seat while five candidates are in fray for the Arunachal East Parliamentary seat.

Union minister for state for home affairs and Lok Sabha MP Kiren Rijiju on Tuesday said that election campaign has remained more or less peaceful in the state barring stray incidents of violence in Tirap and Longding districts where insurgents allegedly killed NPP and BJP workers.

Counting of votes would be conducted on May 23.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply