Agartala: With the filing of nominations for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections ending on Tuesday, a total of 23 candidates have now enrolled for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections for the two seats in the state. Five names were cancelled from the West Tripura constituency.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sriram Taranikanti said, “In total, 13,47,381 voters will exercise their franchise to elect a Member of Parliament among 13 candidates of different political parties in the fray.”

“Altogether, 18 candidates filed their nomination papers for West Tripura parliamentary constituency till yesterday [Monday] and after scrutiny on Tuesday, five were cancelled and 13 left in the fray”, said CEO Taranikanti while briefing the media persons at the state election department office in Agartala.

“Among the five cancelled candidates, three are independent, one each of SUCI and [Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura] IPFT, an ally of BJP in Tripura,” Taranikanti said, adding that the IPFT candidate Shukla Charan Noatia was rejected, however, IPFT MLA Brishuketu Debbarma is still left in the fray for contesting from West Tripura seat.”

Notably, the nomination paper of Noatia was cancelled as he is the chairman of Tripura Small Industries Corporation and as per guidelines, only the post of chairman of Tripura Khadi and Village Industries Board is exempted from the clause of office of profit.

Speaking about the East Tripura parliamentary constituency, the CEO said: “A total number of 10 candidates from different political parties filed their nomination papers to the Returning Officer (RO) at Ambassa till the last date. The scrutiny will be held tomorrow.”

At present, there are nine general observers, two police and expenditure observers for each district of Tripura. In West Tripura parliamentary constituency, there are 1,679 polling stations distributed in four districts and in East Tripura parliamentary constituency, 1,645 polling stations distributed in six districts, he added.

He said, the second round of training for DEOs will take place in their respective assembly constituencies. The Election Commission is introducing Election Duty Certificate for all polling personnel, sector officers and election officials. The department is further trying to distribute EDC among TSR jawans. This certificate was last used in 2009.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment