Mizoram elections Credit: File image

Aizawl: At least six candidates, including a woman, are in the fray for Mizoram’s lone Lok Sabha seat, election officials said on Monday.

While the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded former Doordarshan director general C Lalrosanga, the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)-Congress combine fielded Lalnghinglova Hmar aka Tetea Hmar, a journalist who was believed to have revolutionalised football in the state.

Deciding to contest it alone, the BJP has projected its state vice-president and veteran Chakma politician Nirupam Chakma, while the newly floated People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) fielded former sailor TBC Lalvenchhunga.

A retired deputy controller of mines Lalhriatrenga Chhangte, who had filed criminal case against former chief minister and state Congress president Lal Thanhawla, and Lalthlamuani, the lone woman candidate, are also contesting the polls as independent.

Of the six candidates, C Lalrosanga (62) of the ruling MNF with a declared assets worth over Rs 13.12 crore is the richest candidate. Lalrosanga has movable assets worth over Rs 62 lakh and immovable assets worth over Rs 12 .5 crore according to his affidavit.

Election officials also said that three people have filed nomination papers for assembly by-election to Aizawl West-I seat. While the ruling MNF has fielded former student leader Zothantluanga, the ZPM-Congress combine fielded a retired bureaucrat Lalbuanga Sailo.

Rev Zaichhawna Hlawndo of Zoramthar group is also contesting the polls on on independent ticket.

Election to Lok Sabha polls and assembly by-election will be held on April 11.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Tuesday while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is fixed on March 28.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment