Representational Credit: Representational image | Pixabay

Itanagar: The last date for filing nominations for the simultaneous assembly and Lok Sabha polls in the state on Monday saw a total of 213 candidates including chief minister Pema Khandu, former chief minister Nabam Tuki and others filed their nominations.

According to the Additional CEO Kangki Darang, out of 213 candidates, 64 candidates including four substitute candidates have filed nominations from BJP, Congress 55 (two substitute), People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) six, National People’s Party (NPP) 3 (three substitute), Janata Dal (Secular) 15 (one substitute) and Janata Dal (United) 20 including four substitute candidates.

In Aalo, former chief minister Nabam Tuki filed his nominations from Congress for the Arunachal West parliamentary seat while social activist Jarjum Ete, who was denied Congress ticket, also filed her nominations for the same seat from Janata Dal-Secular.

Khyoda Apik from NPP, Subu Kechi from PPA and Jomin Nyokir Kara from APIC also filed their nominations.

Altogether, seven candidates are in the fray for the Arunachal West parliamentary seat. Kiren Rijiju from BJP and Rumak Jomoh as Independent also filed their second set of nomination papers on Monday.

Returning officer Swetika Sachan administered the oath of affirmation to all the contesting candidates. For the assembly seats, Jarpum Gamlin from NPP, Yaba Gadi from PPA filed their nominations for the 27 Liromoba assembly seat.

Nyadar Loya from Janata Dal-Secular for 30 Aalo West and Minkir Lollen from Congress for 31 Aalo East filed their nominations today. Returning officers Atul Tayeng, S Tikhak, and C Chukhu administered the oath of affirmation to all the contesting candidates.

In Itanagar, six candidates filed their nominations for the 13 Itanagar assembly seat.

Yumlam Achung from Congress, Kipa Babu from BJP, Taba Thomas from Janata Dal-Secular, Techi Tolu Tara from NPP, Techi Kaso from Janata Dal (United), and Techi Nhagu as substitute candidate for Techi Kaso filed their nominations.

In Tawang, Jambey Tashi from BJP, Jampa Thrinly Kunkhap from NPP filed their nominations for the 1 Lumla assembly seat.

Tsering Tashi from the BJP, Thupten Tempa from Congress filed their nominations for 2 Tawang assembly constituencies, while Thutan Nima from Congress filed his nomination as substitute candidate for Tempa.

Tsering Dorjee from Janata Dal-Secular also filed his nomination for Tawang assembly seat.

Chief minister Pema Khandu from BJP and Thupten Kunphen from Congress filed their nominations for the 3 Mukto assembly seat.

In Tezu, Tapir Gao from BJP, former minister James Lowangcha Wanglat from Congress, CC Singpho as an Independent candidate, Mongol Yomso from People’s Party of Arunachal and Bandey Mili from Janata Dal-Secular filed their nominations today for the Arunachal East parliamentary seat.

Meanwhile, the Tezu-Sunpura assembly constituency will witness a triangular contest this time. Dr Mohesh Chai from BJP and Nuney Tayeng from Congress and former MLA Karikho Kri today filed their nominations. In Ziro, former chief engineer Taba Tedir from BJP and Toko Yaram from Janata Dal (United) filed their nominations for the 16 Yachuli seat.

Interestingly, sitting Yachuli MLA Likha Saaya has not filed his nominations this time. Nani Ribia from Congress filed his nominations for 17 Ziro-Hapoli assembly constituency.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment