Manipur CM N Biren Singh

Guwahati: In all, 14 candidates filed their nomination papers for the two Lok Sabha constituencies — Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur — on Monday, the last date for doing so, officials said.

For the Outer Manipur constituency, eight candidates, including one independent, filed their nomination papers, including Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Houlim Shokhopao Benjamin Mate, who was accompanied by chief minister N Biren Singh. Likewise, Manipur Congress president Gaikhangam Gangmei accompanied the party’s candidate K James when he went to file his nomination papers.

The other aspirants from Outer Manipur are Nationalist Congress Party’s Angam Karoung Kom, Naga Peoples Front’s Lorho S Pfoze, National People’s Party’s Thangminlien Kipgen, North East India Development Party’s Ashang Kasar, Janata Dal (United)’s Hangkhapau Taithul and independent candidate Leikhan Kaipu.

Meanwhile, in Imphal, six candidates filed their nomination papers for the Inner Manipur seat.

The six candidates include BJP’s Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Congress’s Oinam Nabakishore Singh, CPI’s Moirangthem Nara Sing, Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party’s Senjam Nandishwore Singh, Manipur Democratic People’s Front’s Gurumayum Tonsana Sharma and independent candidate Rajkumar Somendro Singh (Kaiku).

The polls for the Outer Manipur seat and Inner Manipur constituency will be held on April 11 and 18, respectively. Results will be declared on May 23.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment