BJP released the first list featuring 184 candidates from across the country on Thursday Credit: File Image

Guwahati: The Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday released the first list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, including those from Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura.

In a press release declared on Thursday, the saffron party announced the names of over 184 candidates from across the country, including two from Arunachal Pradesh, eight from Assam, two each from Manipur and Tripura , and one from Mizoram and Sikkim respectively.

Arunachal Pradesh state BJP president Tapir Gao will be standing from Arunachal West constituency and Union minister of state for home affairs Kiren Rijiju is set to fight from Arunachal East constituency.

Sitting MLA from Ratabari and deputy Speaker of Assam, Kripanath Malla will be standing as the Lok Sabha candidate from Karimganj, Assam BJP spokesperson Rajdeep Roy from Silchar and executive member of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) Harensingh Bey has been fielded from the Autonomous District constituency.

Dropping sitting MPs Bijoya Chakraborty (Guwahati), Ramen Deka (Mangaldoi) and Kamakhya Prasad Tasa (Jorhat), the party has picked former mayor Queen Ojha, BJP Assam general secretary Dilip Saikia, and MLA Topon Gogoi for their respective seats.

The saffron party has retained two sitting MPs, Rameshwar Teli from Dibrugarh and Pradan Baruah from Lakhimpur, Assam.

For the two seats in Manipur, BJP has named KK Ranjan from the Inner Manipur constituency and H Shokhopao Mate (Benjamin) from the Outer seat.

Meanwhile for the lone seats in Mizoram and Sikkim, the saffron party fielded five-time MLA and state BJP vice-president Nirupam Chakma, and Laten Tshering Sherpa, respectively.

In Tripura, BJP has fielded Tripura Assembly Speaker Rebati Mohan Das from East Tripura and Protima Bhaumik from Tripura West.

Polling for the Lok Sabha seats in Northeast is scheduled to take place from April 11 to 23.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply