CPI-M West candidate sitting MP Sankar Prasad Datta submitting his nomination paper to the West District Magistrate on Tuesday

Agartala: Following a massive rally, sitting CPI-M MP Sankar Prasad Datta from West Tripura on Tuesday filed his nomination for the constituency ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the state.

Datta submitted his nomination papers with the West Tripura district magistrate Sandeep N Mahatme in Agartala on Tuesday.

The incumbent MP said that the BJP government has failed to fulfill the expectations of the people, mainly the poor and the farmers. Hence, it is time to remove the BJP government from the Centre and vote for such a government which does not play with religion and is truly a secular party.

He said that the CPI-M has been fighting for the poor, and this time, the elections would be fought differently, unlike the 2018 state assembly elections. The people have lost faith in the state government within a year, and the Centre in the last five years, therefore, it is time to remove the “anti-people’s” government from the centre, he added.

Meanwhile, an independent candidate, Subir Kumar Jamatia, filled his candidature from the East Tripura constituency with the district magistrate in Dhalai on Tuesday.

CPI-M’s sitting MP Jitendra Choudhury from East Tripura will file his nomination papers for a consecutive term on March 23.

The Congress party is also likely to announce the names of its candidates by Wednesday evening soon after the visit of the national president Rahul Gandhi in Agartala.

Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), an ally of the BJP in the state, has also announced their candidates in the state, after the saffron party announced that it will not share the East Tripura seat with them. However, they party is yet to submit its nomination papers.

The Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) also declared the names of party president Bijoy Kumar Hrangkhwal and genetral secretary Jagadish Debbarma for the East Tripura and West Tripura constituencies, respectively.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment