According to Abhijit Sinha, CEO Nagaland, there are 12,09,613 electors in state with 6,13,409 male and 5,96,204 female. Credit: File Image

Kohima: Election to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland will be held on April 11, state chief electoral officer (CEO) Abhijit Sinha said on Sunday. By-election to the Aonglenden Assembly constituency will also be held simultaneously on April 11, the first of the seven-phase election in the country.

Addressing media persons, Sinha said that the last date for filing of nominations is March 25, scrutiny on March 26, withdrawal of candidature on March 28 and counting on May 23.

“There are 12,09,613 voters in the state including 6,13,409 male and 5,96,204 female. Total service electors stand at 7,306 with 7,236 male and 70 female. For the Lok Sabha, altogether 2,227 polling stations are estimated at 2,067 locations,” Sinha added.

Meanwhile, the total electors for 26 Aonglenden constituency stands at 12,269 with 6,098 male and 6,171 female. There are 46 male service electors with no female voters in this category. Strategised at 15 locations, there will be 16 polling stations for the by-election.

The Aonglenden (ST) assembly constituency under Mokokchung district was officially declared vacant with effect from September 23, 2018 due to the demise of Imtikumzuk.

Sinha further added that webcasting and videography will be done at some polling stations. The state has about 500-600 sensitive polling stations.

He also stressed that unlike previous years, the photo voter slip will no longer be the only identification proof to cast votes as per the direction of the Election Commission of India.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment