Residents protest against Permanent Resident Certificate in Itanagar

Itanagar: The Arunachal Indigenous Tribes Forum (AITF), a conglomerate of several community-based organisations (CBO) of the state, has called upon the Arunachal Pradesh government to institute an inquiry committee headed by a sitting/retired high court Judge within 15 days to unearth the truth behind incidents that occurred during the recent anti-Permanent Resident Certificate (PRC) agitation in the capital city of Itanagar.

Executive members of AITF who sat for a meeting here on Saturday to discuss the incidents strongly condemned the state government for its intelligence failure and incompetent and late handling of the situation.

Expressing displeasure over the loss of innocent lives and damages to properties worth crores during the bandh, the house demanded that the government identify the instigators and initiate strict action against them.

The forum also condemned the security forces for allegedly handling the bandh callers like terrorists.

The AITF demanded that the government should immediately transfer the chief secretary and Capital Complex deputy commissioner and superintendent of police while alleging that all the mishandlings happened due to them.

“The government should immediately replace the DC and SP by officers from the State,” a statement from the forum said while adding that the government should also issue a gazette notification immediately stating that the PRC issue has been closed once for all.

Further in view of the CBSE examinations, the AITF has appealed all the organisations of the State to stay away from calling bandhs and urged the political parties and individuals not to politicise the PRC issue and the incidents related to it.

“The issue should not be politicised and the AITF urges the entire apex CBOs to control the umbrella organisations under them so that there is no further escalation of violence and unrest in this matter,” the statement added.

The AITF members on the day also paid their respect to Risso Tari, Biki Ruja and Tsering Wangdi who lost their lives in the PRC agitation by observing a minute of silence and praying for the departed souls.

The AITF consists of Nyishi Elite Society, Tanw Supuñ Dukuñ, Galo Welfare Society, Adi Bane Kebang, Tagin Cultural Society, Sajong Elite Society, Aka-Hrusso Elite Society, Monpa Mimang Tshokpa etc.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment