Protest against Citizenship (Amendment) Bill
Protest against Citizenship (Amendment) Bill|File image

Tripura: MPs decide to boycott PM Modi’s programmes in state

Parliamentarians Jitendra Chaudhury, Shankar Prasad Dutta and Jharna Das Baidya demand immediate withdrawal of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill

Chandan Panday

Chandan Panday

Agartala: Three MPs from Tripura have decided to boycott the programmes to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday.

In a joint media statement, the three MPs from the state -- Jitendra Chaudhury and Shankar Prasad Dutta (Lok Sabha) and Jharna Das Baidya (Rajya Sabha) -- have demanded the Centre to immediately withdraw the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill honouring the sentiments and anguish of the people of the Northeast.

During the last leg of his visit to the Northeast on Saturday, Modi will dedicate to the nation the Garjee-Belonia Railway Line through unveiling of plaque at Swami Vivekananda Stadium in Agartala. This line will boost Tripura as the gateway to South and Southeast Asia. PM will also inaugurate New Complex of Tripura Institute of Technology at Narsingarh.

The PM will also unveil the statue of Maharaja Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur at Maharaja Bir Bikram Airport in Agartala.

“The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, if passed in the Rajya Sabha, would grossly harm the cause of Northeast in the long run and pose a serious threat to the integrity of the country,” a joint statement issued by the MPs said.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.