20 first-time MLAs elected to Mizoram Assembly  Credit: File image

Aizawl: Half of the newly elected members to the 40-seat Mizoram state assembly are first-time legislators.

The Mizo National Front (MNF), which won 26 seats in the recently-held elections, has 14 first-timers. The corresponding figure for independent candidates is five out of the eight who won the elections this year. The Congress has one new entrant to the state assembly out of its five winning legislators.

In a massive setback for state Congress chief and former CM Lal Thanhawla, first-time legislator TJ Lalnuntluanga defeated the veteran politician from the Champai South constituency.

At 61 and 60 years, respectively, Ramthanmawia and ZR Thiamsanga, both from MNF, won from East Tuipui and Champhai North to become the oldest first-time MLAs in the assembly.

Aizawl FC owner Robert Romawia Royte has been a prominent first-time winner who defeated former finance minister Lalsawta. Although Royte lost in his first attempt as an independent candidate in the last elections, he won on an MNF ticket this year.

Professor Lalnunmawia, again a first-time winner who contested the elections on an MNF ticket, is considered as a giant killer as he defeated former agriculture minister K S Thanga in his home constituency, Aizawl South-III.

Dr Vanlaltanpuia of the MNF, a college teacher by profession and a first-timer, emerged as another giant killer as he defeated former horticulture minister P C Lalthanliana.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment