Leishemba Takhellambam of Manipur made a dream debut scoring five goals in today’s match

Imphal: The Manipur polo team, which represented India B, drubbed India A by a convincing margin of 17-0 on the third day of the 12th Manipur Polo International played in Imphal on Saturday.

For the home side, Leishemba Takhellambam made a dream debut scoring five goals, the highest individual score in the match. This is the biggest margin of victory in this tournament so far.

The Manipur team was simply unstoppable on Saturday and they were relentless, kept going for goals till the last second of the match.

Manipur opened its account through Kaoba in the 2.41st minute who also scored the second goal exactly a minute later following a fine move by Leishemba. Even though the Manipur team made number of raids at the India A goal, they failed to increase their lead any further in this chukker.

From the second chukker onwards, it was as though the Manipur team had found their rhythm. Everything seemed to fall into place. In this chukker, the home team added as many as six goals to the team tally. Almost immediately after the beginning of the 2nd chukker, Jacob scored the team’s third goal, Leishemba then followed it up with two consecutive goals to make it 5-0. Jacob was at it again, scoring two more goals while Ojit scored another goal towards the end for the Manipur team to lead 8-0 at the end of second chukker.

The deluge of goals continued in the third chukker and the home team added another four goals. Ojit scored two goals while Leishemba and Bimol added one each to make it 12-0 at the end of this chukker. The pattern continued in the last chukker and there was no respite for the India A team. In this chukker, Manipur team pumped in another five goals through Leisehmba, who scored twice while Bimol, Jacob and Kaoba added one goal each.

The Manipur team showed a lot of cohesion and understanding in this match and played at great pace and simply overran the opposition.

In the other match of the day, England defeated Uruguay by a matrgin of 3-1.

Manipur team was represented by S Bimol, T Pradeepkumar, P Ojit, Th Kaoba, Th Jacob and Leishemba Takhellambam while the India A team comprised of Col Tarsem, Maj Apurva Babhade, Daffadar Rambir Singh and Mahesh Sharma. The match was officiated by Juan Fernandez from Uruguay and Ben Eeley from England.

In the match before this, England notched their first win in this edition of the Manipur Polo International defeating Uruguay 3-1.

On Sunday, the first match will be played between India A and USA while USA will play against Manipur in the second match of the day.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment