The 35 candidates announced by the Zoram People’s Movement for the upcoming assembly elections in Mizoram Credit: Zoram Muani

Aizawl: Zoram People’s Movement, an alliance of several small regional parties, on Wednesday declared candidates for 35 of the 40 seats for the upcoming Mizoram assembly elections. The list of 35 candidates, most of whom are new faces in politics, was announced by ZPM chairman Lalliansawta in a simple function at Aijal Club in Aizawl, which was devoid of election hullabaloo.

However, ZPM did not field candidates for five seats in southern Mizoram – Tuichawng, Lawngtlai West, Lawngtlai East, Saiha and Palak. ZPM’s chief ministerial candidate and former Lok Sabha member Lalduhoma will contest from two seats – chief minister Lal Thanhawla’s home constituency Serchhip and Aizawl West-I constituency.

ZPM is an alliance of Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) led by Lalduhoma, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC), Zoram Exodus Movement and other smaller parties that basically aim to offer a third choice to the voters in Mizoram, other the two main rivals Mizo National Front and Mizoram Pradesh Congress.

MPC president Lalhmangaiha Sailo will contest from his late father and founder of the MPC party Brig T Sailo’s traditional constituency Aizawl West-II. Leading Mizo daily Vanglaini editor and one of the masterminds behind the formation of the third front K Sapdanga will contest from Aizawl East-I against Mizo National Front president Zoramthanga.

There are also two former legislators among the candidates – Vanlalhlana, who will contest from Aizawl North-I, and Lalthansanga, who will contest from Hrangturzo seat. There are two woman candidates as well – F Lalrintluangi, who will contest from Dampa, and Lalrinpuii, who will contest from Lunglei East.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply