NCP president Sharad Pawar Credit: File image

Aizawl: Nationalistic Congress Party (NCP) would contest five of the 40 seats of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly in the forthcoming election to be held on 28 November.

On Thursday, NCP state unit president Lalawmpuia Chhangte told reporters that the party wants to contest from Hachhek, Dampa, Mamit, Aizawl east-I and Aizawl west-I constituencies.

As per Chhangte, the names of candidates will be announced after the party receives the approval from the NCP headquarters in Delhi next week.

He said the party has not arrived at any decision about fielding candidates from west Tuipui and Tuichawng seats that fall in the Chakma Autonomous District Council over the appeals made by the NGO Coordination Committee, a conglomerate of all major civil society groups and student organisations in Mizoram.

Chhangte expressed hope that the party will win the election from at least the Hachhek and Mamit seats, where the party candidates had bagged 2,467 votes and 2,368 votes respectively in the last Assembly elections held in 2013.

In the 2013 polls, however, the NCP did not win a single seat.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply