MC Mary Kom
MC Mary Kom|File image

BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year: Mary Kom, 4 others nominated

Besides ace boxer Mary Kom, other nominees for inaugural edition of awards are shuttler PV Sindhu, wrestler Vinesh Phogal, sprinter Dutee Chand and para-badminton pro Manasi Joshi

Team EastMojo

Team EastMojo

Guwahati: Six-time world champion MC Mary Kom, ace shuttler PV Sindhu and wrestler Vinesh Phogal are in the game to compete for the inaugural edition of BBC's ‘Indian Sportswoman of the Year’ award along with two other athletes.

Odisha's ace sprinter Dutee Chand and para-badminton pro Manasi Joshi are also in the pool of nominees.

The nominees were selected by a jury of eminent sports journalists.

The winners will be decided on a voting basis which is open till February 18 on six BBC vernacular websites. The results will be announced on March 8 this year and honoured at an award ceremony in New Delhi, where an Indian sportswoman will also receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

India has won 13 Olympic medals since 2000 -- five of those were won by women. Men had won all the 13 medals before that.

"The BBC is committed to improving the representation of women in the news and I'm delighted that the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award 2019 will deliver on that aim for our growing audiences," said Jamie Angus, director of BBC World Service during the announcement of the awards in December last year.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.