Nagaland speaker

Kohima: Independent MLA T Yangseo Sangtam, has been elected unopposed as the deputy speaker of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) during the first day of the ongoing budget session on Saturday.

The first-time MLA won the 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly constituency as an independent candidate in the by-polls held November last year.

The seat of the deputy speaker was left vacant since February 2020, after then deputy speaker Sharingain Longkumer took charge as the Speaker of the state Assembly.

Congratulating the new deputy speaker, Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio hoped that the newest member of the state assembly along with the speaker will continue to maintain the good tradition of the orderly conduct of businesses in the house. 

The independent MLA exuded confidence in discharging duties as the deputy speaker. Sangtam assured to treat all house members equally and appealed for full cooperation from all members.

Leader of the NPF legislature party TR Zeliang also congratulated Sangtam on the house floor. Zeliang assured the cooperation of the legislators towards Sangtam as he occupied the neutral chair.

Interacting with journalists later, Sangtam who was asked if he has plans to join any of the political parties, said that he has already given his support to the Rio-led NDPP party.

Sangtam was elected unopposed after MLA KT Sukhalu proposed his candidature and was seconded by H Haying. 

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply