Nagaland's newly elected MLA sworn in
S Keoshu Yimchunger

Kohima: Nagaland Chief minister-led Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), on Thursday named S Keoshu Yimchunger as its official candidate to contest the by-poll to 58 Shamator-Chessore AC.

Taking to Twitter, the NDPP party announced its decision, saying “Mr S. Keoshu Yimchunger is the official candidate of the United Democratic Alliance for the 58 Shamator-Chessore AC Bye election 2021”.

Yimchunger is the consensus candidate of the Nagaland government’s mega alliance: United Democratic Alliance (UDA).

Abu Metha, the Secretary-General of NDPP, said on Twitter: “Wish Mr. Keoshu all success. Appreciation to all alliance partners and well wishers for the support and solidarity.”

As reported earlier, the state BJP and the Naga People’s Front (NPF) has also announced their decision to support the NDPP candidate and will not field any candidate for the by-poll.

NPF Secretary-General Achumbemo Kikon had earlier informed that in the first week of August, the NPF had formed a search committee that recommended the candidature of its party leader Rukkimong for the ensuing by-election.

However, the party decided not to contest in the upcoming by-election after thorough deliberation by the party’s working committee following a request letter from the NDPP party to not field a candidate.

The BJP had also announced that the seat-sharing formula of the pre-poll alliance between the BJP and the NDPP will not be disturbed and that it will not be setting any candidate for the by-polls.

The Nagaland government had recently formed an opposition-less government–UDA on the pretext of the Naga political issue.

The seat to 58 Shamator-Chessore Assembly Constituency was left vacant following the demise of former MLA Toshi Wungtung, who passed away on July 1.

The former legislator from the constituency held the charge of Advisor for the Departments of Information & Public Relations, SCERT and Village Guards before his demise.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the schedule for the by-polls to fill the vacant seats in 30 Assembly Constituencies in Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland among 10 other states and 3 Parliamentary constituencies.

The last date for filing nomination papers for the by-polls is October 8 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature for all seats, except in Assam, Bihar and West Bengal, is fixed on October 13, while the nomination papers will be scrutinised on October 11.

The date of the poll is scheduled for October 30. Counting of votes for all the by-polls will be held simultaneously on November 2.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment