Kohima: Kohima made it to the list of India’s Top 11 Cycling Pioneers, as announced by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA). Along with 10 other cities across the country, Kohima will receive an award of Rs 1 crore.

The award marks the beginning of the next stage of the first season of India Cycles4Change Challenge, where 107 cities across the country come together to test, learn, and scale up different cycling-friendly initiatives, kickstarting India’s cycling revolution, the PIB said.

From the top 25 cities that were shortlisted earlier this year, a jury of renowned national and international transport experts selected the top 11 cities. The selected cities will receive Rs 1 crore award each to scale up cycling initiatives in the cities.

The result was announced on Wednesday during an online event by Durga Shanker Mishra, Secretary of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA). The first cycling challenge report was also released.

“2020 ignited India’s cycling revolution. Cities and citizens joined hands for the first time to test, learn, and scale up ideas to become cycling havens. The results have been resounding: more people are cycling; city officials and public representatives are leading by example—cycling to work—and we are backing the city’s efforts with investments. I encourage more cities to join the cycling revolution and work towards a cycling-friendly future,” said Mishra.

The Ministry also announced the second season of the Challenge, which is set to begin in August, this year. Fresh applications will be invited from all Smart Cities, capital cities of States/UTs and cities with a population of over 5 lakh.

 “Thanks to the Challenge, our city broke the myth that it’s impossible to cycle in mountainous terrain like Kohima. We are racing ahead to make Kohima the cycling capital of the North East,” Kovi Meyase, former CEO of Kohima Smart City was quoted as saying.

The other awardees include: Bengaluru, Karnataka; Bhubaneswar, Odisha; Chandigarh, Punjab and Haryana; Nagpur, Maharashtra; New Town Kolkata, West Bengal; Pimpri Chinchwad, Maharashtra; Rajkot, Gujarat; Surat, Gujarat; Vadodara, Gujarat; Warangal, TelanganaRajkot, Gujarat; Surat, Gujarat; Vadodara, Gujarat; and Warangal, Telangana.

Also read: Winning Olympic medal is like winning a battle against myself: Deepika Kumari

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment