Kohima: The core committee of a Parliamentary panel set up by the Nagaland government to pursue the Naga political issue on Friday appealed to all the negotiating groups “to come together”, “hammer out” differences and create a common approach for “one solution and one agreement”.

During its first meeting at Rhododendron Hall in Dimapur, the commercial hub of the state, the Core Committee of the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue adopted a five-point resolution in this regard.

The core committee appealed to the negotiating parties of the Indo-Naga political dialogue to resume the peace talks with a positive approach of mutual respect for each other by setting aside its pre-conditions for long-term peace.

The committee emphasised the need to move forward under a positive environment that is conducive to finding a political solution at the earliest.

The core committee also appealed to all Naga political groups to make serious efforts towards unity and reconciliation.

The members were of the view that the Naga political groups’ constant antagonism shown against each other through public space and in the media is sending out a wrong message to the people, even as all are pursuing the same aspiration for peace and political solution.

Citing the positive example set by the elected members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly who stood above party affiliations to unite for the Naga political issue, the core committee said that the Naga political groups should make concerted efforts and listen to the voice of the people for unity and oneness.

Also read | Nagaland lockdown: 7-day ‘Unlock 2’ from July 11. Details here

The core committee also appreciated the constant role and contributions of the churches, civil societies and NGOs towards facilitating peace and strengthening the peace process. It also appealed to all civil societies, mass-based organisations and tribal hohos to make renewed efforts towards creating a conducive atmosphere for early realisation of a political solution by pursuing unity, reconciliation and oneness.

“All members of the core committee and the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue, including the two Members of Parliament, have come together under the same banner in line with the election manifestos of all political parties and commit to the people that the elected members are prepared to pave the way as and when an inclusive honorable and acceptable solution is arrived at,” it added.

The Nagaland government had on June 10 formed a Parliamentary Committee on the Naga Political Issue comprising all the 60 MLAs.

The committee headed by Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio as convenor also has deputy CM Y Patton and Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang of the Naga People’s Front (NPF) as co-convenors.

The core committee of the Parliamentary panel has 15 MLAs as members. Four are from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), five each are from the BJP and NPF and one is an Independent MLA.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply