Nagaland Assembly speaker nominated to review powers of presiding officers
Lok Sabha speaker, Om Birla

Kohima: Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Om Birla, nominated Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) speaker Sharingain Longkumer into the Committee of the Presiding Officers to review the powers of presiding officers under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

Commissioner and Secretary of NLA, Dr PJ Antony, on Thursday, informed that the Committee is headed by the Speaker of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, Dr CP Joshi as chairperson; Dr Surjya Narayana Patro, Speaker, Odisha Legislative Assembly, Vishweshwar Hedge Kageri, speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly, and Sharingain Longkumer, NLA speaker as members.

The officer informed that communication to this effect has been received from the Lok Sabha Secretariat on Thursday. The only other representation from the North East in such a Committee of Presiding Officers is that of the speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, Yumnan Kemchand Singh, in the Committee of the Presiding Officers to Examine the Matter of Financial Independence of Legislature Secretariat.

‚ÄúIt is a well-deserved recognition for the State of Nagaland as much as for Speaker, Longkumer. With Nagaland having its own share of Petitions under the 10th Schedule, his association with this Committee will be in the larger interest of Parliamentary democracy,‚ÄĚ said Antony through a release.

Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu took to Twitter to congratulate Longkumer. “Congratulations @SharingainL Hon’ble Speaker of the NLA on being nominated into a 4-member national committee by the Hon’ble @loksabhaspeaker Shri  @ombirlakota to review the powers of Presiding Officers. It’s an important task. I’m sure you will do it with objectivity & integrity,” said Rio.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment