NSF denounces proposed peace deal on Karbi Anglong council
File image of NSF president Kegwayhun Tep

Kohima: Kegwayhun Tep from the Rengma Students’ Union was elected as the new president of the Naga Students’ Federation (NSF) during its 29th general conference held at Solidarity Park in Kohima, Nagaland on Friday.

Tep, who is also the incumbent social and cultural secretary of the NSF, was elected as its president for the 2021-23 tenure.

Süpüni Ng Philo, the incumbent assistant general secretary of the NSF, was elected as the general secretary of the federation.

The new NSF team during the oath-taking ceremony

The other elected members are Atokiho Sumi (vice-president); Medovi Rhi (secretary education); Benjongakum Longchar (secretary social and cultural); Mteisuiding (secretary publicity and information; Kaisü Chakre (secretary games and sports; and KS James Brilliantson (assembly speaker).

The oath-taking ceremony was administered by NSF chief election commissioner K Elu Ndang during the valedictory function.

Also read: Nagaland society in ‘shambles,’ deeply rooted in ‘tribalism,’ says minister

On behalf of the newly elected members, president-elect Kegwayhun Tep assured that the new team of the NSF executive council will uphold the constitution of the federation.

Briefly addressing the people, the student leader said that all must accept the reality that the Naga society is on the verge of self-destruction, tribalism, regionalism, and factionalism, which is destroying the fabric and credibility of society.

He added that the NSF has been defending the people, not only from outside forces but also within the people. In this regard, he said that the way forward is to shift towards reviving the consciousness of the younger generation.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply