The ongoing session of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly Credit: EastMojo Image

Kohima: After a day long debate on the Naga political issue, members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) on Tuesday formed a drafting committee comprising of seven members from all the political parties in the Assembly.

The legislators who are part of the drafting committee include Minister of planning and coordination, Land revenue and Parliamentary Affairs Neiba Kronu, Adviser SCERT, IPR and Village guards Toshi Wungtung from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive People’s Part (NDPP), Health minister S Pangnyu Phom, PHED minister Jacob Zhimomi from BJP, Independent politician and Minister of PWD (Housing and Mechanical) Tongpang Ozukum, and Opposition MLAs Chotisuh Sazo and Imkong L Imchen from the Naga People’s Front (NPF).

The drafting committee is scheduled to meet Assembly Speaker Sharingain Longkumer on Wednesday to finalize a resolution on the Naga political issue to be passed in the state Assembly.

Also Read: Nagaland: Rs 11.36 crore sanctioned for Sakhi under Nirbhaya Fund so far

The committee was constituted after Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio suggested the formation of the committee with all political parties.

Rio made the suggestion after “having understood the sense of the House”. It was suggested that the committee propose a resolution to voice the collective voice of the people of Nagaland.

“Our unity will send out a positive message of hope, strengthening the efforts of all stakeholders towards unity and oneness,” Rio said.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply