Ahead of the match, both teams pose for lens
Ahead of the match, both teams pose for lens|EastMojo image

FINAL | North East Dr T Ao Trophy | Sikkim vs Mizoram | LIVE

Stay with EastMojo as we give you live updates from the final match between Sikkim and Mizoram at ongoing North East Dr T Ao Trophy 2020 in Kohima, Nagaland

Medolenuo Ambrocia

Medolenuo Ambrocia

Thanks for following EastMojo! Good night

EastMojo image

The champions!

EastMojo image

Mizo fans cheering for the champions

EastMojo image

IG Academy girls cleaning up the stadium

EastMojo image

Sikkim (blue) make way and cheer for champions Mizoram as they walk up to receive their trophy

EastMojo image

Prize distribution ceremony underway

EastMojo image
EastMojo image

People behind the scenes: Security squad (in QRT uniform) and ball boys and girls (in red track suits)

EastMojo image
EastMojo image

Jubilant Mizoram team kneel in prayer after their victory over Sikkim

EastMojo image

Final match over! Mizoram win! Mizoram 1- 0 Sikkim

Mizoram substitution: Vanlalthanga (13) IN; Lalruatfela (10) OUT

Runner-up to get Rs 6 lakh along with trophy and certificates

Today's winner will walk away with Rs 10 lakh (1 million) along with trophy and certificates

5 minutes time added

Latest score: Mizoram 1-0 Sikkim

Mizoram substitution: Vanlalthlamuana (9) IN; Malsawmfela (11) OUT at 79.00 min

1st goal for Mizoram scored by David Lalrinmuana (17) at 74:03 min

Latest score: Mizoram 1-0 Sikkim

Mizoram scores first goal!

Mizoram substitution: MS Dawngliana (15) IN; F Lalrinpuia (16) OUT at 69:20 min

Sikkim (in blue) and Mizoram (in red) continue to contend for the ultimate championship trophy

EastMojo image

Sikkim substitution: Ashish Chettri (9) IN; Sanjay Rai (13) OUT at 64:40 min

Another yellow card for Sikkim's Sameer Pradhan (5) at 63:44

Sikkim's Afzal Ansari (12) given yellow card at 60:12 min

A portrait of the legendary Indian footballer put up on the railing of the stadium in Kohima

EastMojo image

Spectators watching the final match intensely

EastMojo image

Chief minister Neiphiu Rio, who is gracing the closing ceremony, also inspected behind the scenes of the live streaming of matches. The matches are being live streamed at drtaotrophytrophy.nagaland.gov.in.

The 9th edition of the North East Dr T Ao Trophy to come to an end tonight

EastMojo image

Second half begins!

Mengu Suokhrie and the band continue to enthrall the crowd at half-time

EastMojo image
EastMojo image
EastMojo image

Mizoram 0-0 Sikkim

Half time! First half concludes with a goalless draw

The champions trophy and the runner-up trophy await!

EastMojo image

Match underway. Both teams yet to score despite several attempts.

EastMojo image

In the history of North East Dr T Ao Trophy, only Manipur and Mizoram have won the championship trophy. Manipur won the trophy six times, and Mizoram won it twice. This edition, Manipur was knocked out from the group match, and Mizoram has once again made it to the final playing against Sikkim. Sikkim has a record of bagging the runner-up trophy twice, in 2011 and 2016.

Mizoram just made a good attempt inside the net, but offside it is! 😀

Team Mizoram: Starting XI


C Laldinpuia

Lalrinchhana Tochhong (C)


K Lalmalsawma

R Malsawmtluanga

David Lalrinmuana (VC)

Lalchungnunga Chhangte

MS Dawngliana


F Lalrinpuia

Team Sikkim: Starting XI

Nindup Lepcha

Sonam Zangpo Bhutia

Afzal Ansari

Sameer Pradhan

Kilpo Namgyal Barfungpa

Dawa Sherpa

Dom Tshering Lepcha (C)

Prashant Chettri

Tempa Lhandup Bhutia

Sonam Tshering Bhutia

Sanjay Rai

Match begins!!

Match will take place in a short while. Stay tuned

Match about to kick off. But first, introduction of players... Nagaland CM meets players of team Sikkim (in blue) and Mizoram (in red)

EastMojo image
EastMojo image
Group photo
Group photo EastMojo image

Two LED screens have been set up at the Indira Gandhi Stadium for live show of the matches. The facility has been made since the semifinals of the tournament

EastMojo image

Mengu Suokhrie and the band enthrals the crowd

EastMojo image

Chief minister Neiphiu Rio's speech on closing ceremony:

• Dear Friends I bring you greetings and best wishes on the occasion of the closing ceremony of the North East Dr. T. Ao Trophy and also on the occasion of the onset of a new decade, 2020.

• As we all know, Dr. Talimeren Ao was India’s first ever captain of the Indian football team at the Olympic Games. In the 1948 London Olympic Games, when he led team India into the arena, he etched his names in the annals of India sport. He remains one of the greatest sons of Nagaland and a legendary figure who will inspire every generation. He was a champion, a nation builder and an icon who proved that no dream is impossible if one truly desires.

• I must congratulate each and every organisation, all government departments and all individuals who has made the 2020 edition a grand success. I extend my appreciation to all the participants and to my chief minister colleagues of the north eastern states who have sent their teams, all of who have played the championships in an exemplary spirit of sportsmanship. This championship has once again exemplified the fraternity of the north eastern states and I hope that we will continue to build our bonds of friendship under a spirt of unity and mutual co-existence so that together we can rise. Most importantly I want to thank and congratulate the sports lovers and football fans that have come out in thousands to support not just the teams but also the championships as a whole. The success of this event is because of the positive support of the people of Nagaland.

• Before I conclude, let me assure the sports fraternity that the Nagaland Government of Nagaland in collaboration with the Nagaland Olympic Association, the Government of India and the Indian Olympic Association is formulating a comprehensive long-term game-plan to develop sports in the State. We assure you that in the not very far future we hope to not only produce champions but also host national and international events and championships here in Nagaland. All sections and stakeholders must work together as a cohesive unit and each citizen is a member of Team Nagaland. Let us work together as one. “Together we will soar.”

• Thank you for listening, I wish you a pleasant and enjoyable evening.


Performances continue as part of the closing ceremony. Match will follow

EastMojo image
EastMojo image

Players gearing up for the final showdown!

EastMojo image
EastMojo image
EastMojo image

Glimpses from the closing ceremony held sometime ago

Chief minister Neiphiu Rio addressing the gathering at the closing ceremony
Chief minister Neiphiu Rio addressing the gathering at the closing ceremony EastMojo image
A cultural show in progress
A cultural show in progress EastMojo image
EastMojo image

All set for the big day!

EastMojo image

The match will begin in a short while. Stay tuned.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.