1. Jetta – Honey 

“Honey” is a beautiful new track from the English artist’s upcoming album. Produced by Mark Ralph (who also co-produced last week’s “Sweet Talker” by Years & Years), “Honey” starts off sad but has an ecstatic chorus which is highly listenable. 

2. Grimes – Player of Games 

“Player of Games” is Grimes’ first solo single after her separation from SpaceX’s CEO Elon Musk. The lyrics follow a woman’s love for an emotionally inaccessible man who is more in love with his ambition than with her. With Musk’s history of three marriages and his refusal to pay taxes so he can keep his profits, one can’t say this wasn’t going to happen. “Player of Games” is either heartbreakingly beautiful or cringely hilarious depending on where you stand regarding Musk’s ethics. 

3. Tierra Whack – Stand Up 

The rapper from Philadelphia, USA has been teasing us with a few singles. Her last EP, ‘Whack World’, was released over two years ago. She is finally back with a complete body of work with her new EP simply titled ‘Rap?’.

The opening track is “Stand Up”, which is lyrically a call-back to Eminem’s classic, “Real Slim Shady”. The song itself feels more like a sister to Little Simz’s “Boss” with its similar bassline, percussion and use of synths. 

4. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake (Demo) 

Veteran rockstar PJ Harvey has been releasing demo versions of all her albums in the past few years. And now, she has released the first single off her upcoming ‘Let England Shake – Demos’. The stark difference between the original “Let England Shake” song and this demo version is that the latter has a group of men singing the lines “Take me to Constantinople. No you can’t take back Constantinople”. It is haunting and will reverberate in our minds. This more stripped version is on an equal level with the original song and has great replay value. 

5. Stefflon Don, System Inc, Jax Jones – The Don 

Stefflon Don collaborates with prolific producers Jax Jones and System Inc to make “The Don”: a truly exciting and innovative dance track which mixes afrobeat with house music. There’s some Azalea Banks in the way Stefflon raps to the beats. Check it out. 

6. MARINA – Happy Loner 

The deluxe version of MARINA’s pop album ‘Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land’ is coming soon. The first single off of this is “Happy Loner”, which is very much a continuation of the same sound. In fact, the verse’s tune reminds one of “Highly Emotional People” so much, they’re indeed cut from the same cloth. While called “Happy Loner”, the narrator of the song is far from happy. We get the hint that she is a sensitive woman battling her inner demons. She isn’t happy either alone or with the company. But she prefers being alone because then nobody will judge her. 

7. Natania – Confidence 

The Indian singer-songwriter based in L.A., California is back with a new song after her colourful pop EP ‘Winning’. She still seems to be on a high from her last work as the ecstatic sound from the EP carries itself onto this new track. 

8. Leyla Blue – HOT ONE (feat. REI AMI and Baby Tate) 

“HOT ONE” is a simple pop-R&B track. Lyrically, it’s about being proud in all your messy glory. While slightly underwhelming, rapper Rei Ami has some strong lyrics here to make it listenable. 

9. spill tab – Velcro (feat. Gus Dapperton) 

Claire Chicha a.k.a Spill Tab is a Fremch-Korean music artist who has released her new EP, ‘Bonnie’. Collabing with musician Gus Dapperton whom she briefly assisted as a tour manager, she has given us the song “Velcro”. The song which explores an introvert’s headspace has that indie pop/bedroom pop flavour that we love so much. 

10. Flohio – Marbles

London rapper Flohio has released her four track EP, ‘Final Rage’. The track “Marbles” is chaotic, splashy, playful and free. With this song, Flohio exudes an effortless swagger which many rappers can only dream of. 

11. Miraa May – In My Feelings 

British singer Miraa May lays herself bare as she sings of her tendency to be emotional and sensitive. This R&B track will resonate with all those who grapple with insecurities like moodiness and overthinking. 

12. COUCOU CHLOE – FREEZE (feat. Kai Whinston) 

French producer and artist COUCOU CHLOE makes a Shygirl-esque turn with this alluring dark-electro track. Fun fact: Shygirl, COUCOU CHLOE, Oklou and Sega Bodega are all co-founding members of the musical-collective-cum-record-label NUXXE.

13.Drea Rose – Christmas in Paradise (feat. Ysabelle Cuevas) 

Philippine singers Drea Rose and Ysabelle Cuevas wrap up a beautiful little gift with the Christmas song “Christmas In Paradise”. Produced by Rose, the song has pretty instrumentation and sweet vocals to make your December special.

14. Martha Skye Murphy – Concrete (feat. LEYA) 

English artist Martha Skye Murphy has a knack for a cinematic sound like Lana Del Rey’s. Featuring LEYA, her latest sing called “Concrete” has a mysterious aura as the listener will have to finish the puzzle themselves while listening to the intentionally incomplete lyrics and narrative. 

15.DJ ShimZ – Live My Life 

Shillong-based producer DJ ShimZ gives us a rousing and emotional trance track with “Live My Life” to help you end 2021 with a boosted confidence. 

16. Pussy Riot – RAGE (Boys Noize remix) 

Feminist protest group Pussy Riot has released the remix of their song “RAGE” which was released earlier this year. Remixed by the renowned Boys Noize, we get some soft “Grimes-like” voice by Nadya Tolokonnikova who sings in Russian. But there is a lack of political straightforwardness here which was more apparent in their earlier works. We need some new music by this Moscow-based band. 

17. Mae Muller – Better Days (Regard Remix) (feat. NEIKED and Polo G) 

Albania DJ Dardan Aliu, a.k.a. Regard, remixes Mae Muller and NEIKED’s song “Better Days”. The remix works rather well as we get a whole new beat which makes “Better Days” sound so different and yet so good. 

18. B1 – Faded (feat. 22Gz, Ivorian Doll and Dezzie) 

Rapper B1 collaborated with Ivoruan Doll, Dezzie and American rapper 22Gz, to make a drill song. Released by GRM Daily, “Faded” is your average rap track with a whole lot of attitude mixed in with some angst and some gendered slurs. 

Check out the “New Songs Sunday” playlist on Spotify. 

Also read: Arranged 2: Come and join Jayanta and Jurima’s journey once again

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply