Mizoram records 80.43% voter turnout in state elections
Zoramthanga casting his vote

Aizawl: Mizoram witnessed a voter turnout of 80.43% in the state’s assembly elections held on Tuesday. The polling exercise extended late into the night, concluding at 11:50 pm. Marpara South Polling Station in Lunglei district emerged as the last polling station to complete the voting process, marking the end of an eventful day in the state.

Polling commenced at 7 am across 40 assembly constituencies, spanning 11 districts of Mizoram at 1,276 polling stations. Preliminary reports indicated a total voter turnout of 80.43%, though the final outcome will be determined after the preparation of Form 17A, scheduled for Wednesday. Additionally, there were 15,061 votes cast through postal ballots.

Two polling stations in the 9-South Tuipui Assembly Constituency, 29/5 Aithur Polling Station with 116 voters, and 29/22 Lungpuitlang Polling Station with 106 voters, recorded a remarkable 100% voter turnout, with every eligible voter casting their ballots.

The highest voter turnout among the assembly constituencies was observed in 27-Tuikum Assembly Constituency, Serchhip District, with an impressive 87.32%. When calculated by districts, Serchhip District led the way with a turnout of 84.75%.

Election officials expressed their gratitude to political parties, candidates, and the public for their cooperation in adhering to the rules and guidelines established by the Election Commission of India (ECI), the Supreme Court, and other relevant laws. This cooperation contributed to a peaceful and harmonious electoral process, they said.

The electronic voting machines (EVMs) used during the election have been safely transported to strong rooms at the district headquarters, where they will remain under tight security until the official counting date.

Dear Reader,
Over the past four years, EastMojo revolutionised the coverage of Northeast India through our sharp, impactful, and unbiased coverage. And we are not saying this: you, our readers, say so about us. Thanks to you, we have become Northeast India’s largest, independent, multimedia digital news platform.
Now, we need your help to sustain what you started.
We are fiercely protective of our ‘independent’ status and would like to remain so: it helps us provide quality journalism free from biases and agendas. From travelling to the remotest regions to cover various issues to paying local reporters honest wages to encourage them, we spend our money on where it matters.
Now, we seek your support in remaining truly independent, unbiased, and objective. We want to show the world that it is possible to cover issues that matter to the people without asking for corporate and/or government support. We can do it without them; we cannot do it without you.
Support independent journalism, subscribe to EastMojo.

Thank you,
Karma Paljor
Editor-in-Chief, eastmojo.com

It is worth noting that the 80.43% voter turnout in the current elections marks a slight decrease from the 2018 assembly elections when the turnout was 81.61%. In 2013, the turnout was 83.41%.

Also Read: Mizoram man embarks on hunger strike to protest poll-counting date

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment