Mizoram: ZPM fields candidate for Tuichawng constituency

Aizawl: Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) on Tuesday finalised its candidate for the Tuichawng constituency in Mizoram. The party announced that Shanti Jiban Chakma will be their contender for the 36-A/C Tuichawng constituency.

Shanti Jiban Chakma, s/o Ranga Chandra Chakma, completed his Higher Secondary in Arts at Cachar College in Silchar, Assam. Additionally, he holds a BA in Hindi Praveen from the Mizoram Board of Hindi Propagation. 

Chakma has served as the President of Branch YCA Gerakuluksora, as well as President and General Secretary of important organizations like the All Assam Chakma Student Union and Silchar Chakma Student Union, respectively. His involvement extended to being a member of the Barak Valley Development Committee and the Central Young Chakma Association.

Dear Reader,
Over the past four years, EastMojo revolutionised the coverage of Northeast India through our sharp, impactful, and unbiased coverage. And we are not saying this: you, our readers, say so about us. Thanks to you, we have become Northeast India’s largest, independent, multimedia digital news platform.
Now, we need your help to sustain what you started.
We are fiercely protective of our ‘independent’ status and would like to remain so: it helps us provide quality journalism free from biases and agendas. From travelling to the remotest regions to cover various issues to paying local reporters honest wages to encourage them, we spend our money on where it matters.
Now, we seek your support in remaining truly independent, unbiased, and objective. We want to show the world that it is possible to cover issues that matter to the people without asking for corporate and/or government support. We can do it without them; we cannot do it without you.
Support independent journalism, subscribe to EastMojo.

Thank you,
Karma Paljor
Editor-in-Chief, eastmojo.com

Shanti Jiban Chakma’s political journey has also been notable. He held the position of Chakma District BJP President, he was formerly elected as a Member of District Council (MDC) from the Chotapansury constituency.

ZPM had previously disclosed its candidates for 39 constituencies in Mizoram.

Also Read | Ex Rajya Sabha MP alleges Mizoram election timed early by BJP to weaken Congress

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment