Mizoram elections: Twenty-member Election Commission team in state
Election Commission of India

Aizawl: A 20-member team of the Election Commission of India (ECI) will arrive in Aizawl on a two-day visit on Wednesday to oversee preparedness for the Assembly elections slated to be held in the next few months, officials said.

The delegation will be headed by the chief election commissioner Rajiv Kumar.

Apart from Kumar, the team will include three constitutional authorities and other 17 officials, officials said.

During its two-day visit, the ECI team will meet chief secretaries, the Director General of Police (DGP) and secretaries, and representatives of political parties.

They will also interact with state icons, persons with disabilities (PwD) voters and young voters and will hold a press conference on Thursday.

 Assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Mizoram and Rajasthan are likely to be held in October and November. The commission had last week visited Chhattisgarh to update itself on the poll preparedness there.

The term of the legislative assembly of Mizoram ends on December 17 this year.

Dear Reader,
Over the past four years, EastMojo revolutionised the coverage of Northeast India through our sharp, impactful, and unbiased coverage. And we are not saying this: you, our readers, say so about us. Thanks to you, we have become Northeast India’s largest, independent, multimedia digital news platform.
Now, we need your help to sustain what you started.
We are fiercely protective of our ‘independent’ status and would like to remain so: it helps us provide quality journalism free from biases and agendas. From travelling to the remotest regions to cover various issues to paying local reporters honest wages to encourage them, we spend our money on where it matters.
Now, we seek your support in remaining truly independent, unbiased, and objective. We want to show the world that it is possible to cover issues that matter to the people without asking for corporate and/or government support. We can do it without them; we cannot do it without you.
Support independent journalism, subscribe to EastMojo.

Thank you,
Karma Paljor
Editor-in-Chief, eastmojo.com

In the 40-member Mizoram assembly, the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has 27 members, the main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)- has 6, the Congress- has 5 and the BJP has one member.

Dr. K. Beichhua, who resigned as minister in December last year and was later expelled from the MNF said he will join BJP before the assembly polls. 

Also Read | Mizoram incurs Rs 4.88 cr wasteful expenditure due to negligence: CAG

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment