The MADC is headquartered in Mizoram's Siaha district.

Aizawl: The Political Affairs Committee of the Mizoram Congress has directed its Party Disciplinary Action Committee to give show-cause notices to Congress leaders in Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) and four newly-elected Members of District Council (MDC) for joining hands with arch-rival the Mizo National Front (MNF), in the Mara council, a party leader said. 

State Congress spokesperson Lallianchhunga said that the PAC held an emergency meeting on Friday under the leadership of party president Lalsawta.

During the meeting, the Congress disciplinary action committee has been instructed to serve show-cause notices to the four elected Congress members and party leaders in the Mara area for disobeying the party high command’s decision and forging a post-poll alliance with the MNF in the Mara council, he said. 

The PAC had earlier decided that it would not forge a post-poll alliance with any party in the MADC after the council polls results threw up a hung house. It had said that the Congress would sit on the opposition bench as the Mara people have given their mandate to the party to be in the opposition. 

Despite the PAC decision and resolution, four Congress MDCs and Mara District Congress Committee (MDCC) have tied up with the MNF in the MADC, much to the disappointment of state party headquarters.

The joint legislature party of MNF and Congress had also sought approval from the state governor to form an executive body on Friday. 

MDCC president S Hiato said they forged a post-poll alliance with the MNF because the latter consented to the Congress-led council. According to the seat-sharing formula, Congress would take the Chief Executive Member (CEM), three Executive Members besides a nominated seat, while Deputy CEM, Chairman, five Executive Members and two nominated seats would go to the MNF. 

The MADC polls held on May 5 threw up a hung house as no single party could win a majority when results were declared on May 9. The BJP emerged as the single largest party winning 12 seats, while MNF bagged 9 seats and Congress won 4 seats. 

Also read: CCPA issues notices to Ola, Uber for unfair trade practices

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply