Look back at the history of Mizoram legislative assembly, 50 years on

Aizawl: Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla would grace the golden jubilee celebration of Mizoram legislative assembly to be held in May, an official statement said on Monday. 

The speaker has informed of his consent to grace the two-day event in writing, the statement said. The golden jubilee celebration would be held on May 9 and May 10, according to the statement. 

Meanwhile, a programme sub-committee of Mizoram legislative assembly golden jubilee held a meeting under the leadership of its chairman and state parliamentary affairs minister T.J. Lalnuntluanga to chalk out programme for the upcoming celebration. The meeting also discussed important issues related to the golden jubilee celebration, the official statement said.

Mizoram, which hitherto was part of Assam, attained the status of Union Territory in 1972.

The first session held on 10 May, 1972, marked the beginning of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly, which initially had 30 elected and 3 nominated seats.

The first election to the assembly was won by the erstwhile Mizo Union under the leadership of Mizoram’s first chief minister Ch. Chhunga and the first assembly speaker was H. Thansanga.

The Mizo Union was later merged with the Indian National Congress. The strength of the assembly was raised to 40 elected members when Mizoram attained a full-fledged statehood in February 1987 barely 8 months after the singing of the historic Mizoram peace accord between the erstwhile underground Mizo National Front and the Indian government on 30 June 1986.  

In the present assembly, the ruling MNF led by chief minister Zoramthanga, has 28 members, Zoram People’s Movement (6), Congress (5) and BJP (1).

Assam govt does not have complete data on ‘doubtful voters’, says CM

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply