Aizawl: Hours after losing the Tuirial seat to ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), Mizoram main opposition party Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) president Lalliansawta on Tuesday said the by-poll verdict has come as an indication that his party needs another two years to establish a new political system as well as people’s government in the next assembly polls due in 2023.

In his statement, Lalliansawta said the ZPM is a very young party and has already faced several elections during 4 years of its formation.

Formed in 2017, the ZPM had contested 38 seats in the last assembly polls in November 2018 and won 8 seats with Lalduhoma winning two seats.- Aizawl West-I and Serchhip, the home turf of Congress president and former chief minister Lal Thanhawla.

However, all the 38 ZPM nominees had to contest on “independent” tickets, as the party did not obtain registration at that time.

Later, Lalduhoma vacated Aizawl West-I seat to retain the Serchhip seat.

In the by-poll to Aizawl West-I seat held in April 2019, the ZPM lost to the MNF but retained Serchhip seat in the by-poll held in April this year, which is the first seat taken by the party after being registered as a political party.  

The party also contested rural and urban civic body polls between August and September this year and bagged the third rank after the MNF and Congress.

“Looking at the party’s performance is such elections, it is evident that the almighty God has prevented us from being boasting too much. At the same time, he helped and raised us up from being too desperate,” he said.

He claimed that his party has been given an opportunity for another 2 years before the next assembly polls to train and mend itself to usher in a new political system and people’s government in the state.

While accepting the party’s defeat in the by-poll, the ZPM president congratulated the MNF for winning it.

He also thanked ZPM workers for their hard work during the campaign and the voters for supporting the party.

Lalliansawta also lauded the Election Department and Mizoram poll watchdog Mizoram People’s Forum (MPF) for ensuring a free and fair election.

According to results announced by the Election Commission on Tuesday, the ruling MNF won the by-poll to Tuirial seat by securing 39.9 per cent of total valid votes.

MNF candidate K. Laldawngliana has secured 5,820 votes defeating his nearest opponent Laltlanmawia of ZPM by a margin of 1,284 votes. Laltlanmawia secured 4,536 votes (31.1%).

Congress nominee Chalrosanga Ralte finished third by securing 3,927 (29.9 %) votes and BJP candidate K. Laldinthara managed to secure 246 votes (1.7%).

The by-poll to Tuirial seat was necessitated due to the death of its incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana, who was allied with ZPM, in August.

There are 17,911 voters in Tuirial constituency in north Mizoram’s Kolasib district and over 81 per cent of them exercised their franchise in the October 30 by-poll.

With this victory, the MNF tally in the present 40-member assembly has increased to 28, while Congress has 5 members, and the BJP and ZPM have one each.

Besides, there are 5 independent members, who contested as independent but allied with the ZPM.

Also read: DCW notice to Delhi Police over online threats to Virat Kohli’s family

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment