Aizawl: Ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) adviser and Rural Development minister Lalruatkima on Monday said the government flagship programme Socio-Economic Development Policy (SEDP) would be brought to farmers’ doorstep by next year to usher in development in the state.

Addressing a meeting as part of the election campaign for the bypoll to Tuirial assembly seat at Mualkhang village near Aizawl, Lalruatkima claimed that the MNF has fulfilled several of its manifestos and challenged the people to measure that party on whether or not it fulfills its pre-poll promises.

He said that farmers will begin availing SEDP from next year.

“The SEDP will reach farmers by next year. Please measure and examine whether or not the MNF government headed by chief minister Zoramthanga fulfills its manifestos,” the MNF adviser said while campaigning for the bypoll.

The SEDP is a flagship programme of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), which aims at bringing sustainable development by accelerating progress in key sectors through exploration and judicious use of resources and maintaining equality and equity among the citizens.

Citing that many of the party manifestos in 2018 have been fulfilled despite the COVID-19 pandemic, Lalruatkima, who also holds Information and Public Relations portfolio, said that efforts are on to fulfill the remaining pre-poll promises.

Sticking to its pre-poll promises, the MNF has banned alcohol and re-scheduled school timing to suit the local ethos soon it came to power in December 2018, he said.

The MNF government also strengthened Lok Ayukta, an anti-corruption ombudsman, repaired dilapidated roads and also successfully solved cooking gas and food crisis in the state, he said.

Claiming that the present government is courageous enough to defend the state’s boundary allegedly failed to do so by Congress, Lalruatkima said that the process of developing border areas is going on.

Tuirial assembly constituency MLA Lalrinsanga Ralte also addressed the meeting.

The bypoll to Tuirial assembly seat will be held simultaneously with three parliamentary seats and 29 other assembly seats in various states on October 30.

Counting of votes will be undertaken on November 2.

Four candidates from MNF, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), Congress and BJP are in the fray for the bypoll to Tuirial seat, which was left vacant since August after its incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana passed away.

Also read: 4 animals electrocuted by APDCL pole at Assam’s Kaziranga National Park 

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply