Aizawl: Mizoram Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) P. Jawahar on Wednesday said efforts were on to remove names of those Bru voters from the voter list in Mizoram, who have been allowed to re-settle in Tripura.

During a meeting with election officials and representatives of political parties and civil society organisations in view of the upcoming Tuirial assembly by-poll, Jawahar said the petition seeking deletion of names of Bru voters has been submitted to the Election Commission of India (ECI).

He said that views and opinions regarding the deletion of Bru voters from the state voter list were earlier collected from political parties and civil society organisations, which were also intimated to the commission. 

Several political parties have urged the ECI to remove names of those Bru voters, who have been already allowed to re-settle in Tripura following the quadripartite agreement over the Brus imbroglio in January last year.

In view of the upcoming by-polls, the Central Young Mizo Association (CYMA), the largest civil society organisation in Mizoram, had requested the poll panel to not arrange any special polling booths for the Bru voters in Tripura but allow them to exercise their franchise at their respective polling stations in Mizoram.

Kolasib YMA sub-headquarters president Thomas D.Lalengliana, who attended Wednesday’s meeting, reiterated that the organisation would oppose if special polling booths were arranged for the Tripura Bru voters.

Election officials said that nearly 12,000 Bru voters, including 663 voters in Tuirial assembly constituency, are still enrolled in the state voter list as their resettlement in Tripura is under process.

More than 90 per cent of about  35,000 displaced Bru tribals, who failed to return to Mizoram during repatriation, are still lodging at Tripura transit camps, they said.

Meanwhile, Jawahar said that any candidate, who is yet to receive a full dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, should produce an RT-PCR test negative certificate. 

He said that active COVID-19 patients will cast their votes between 5 pm and 6 pm and polling officials will wear PPE during that hour.

The by-poll to the Tuirial assembly seat will be held simultaneously with three parliamentary constituencies and 29 other assembly seats in various states on October 30.

Also read | Mizoram: Lone BJP representative in Chakma council joins MNF

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply