Chakma Autonomous District Council gets new Chairman
CADC Chairman Mohan Chakma

Aizawl: Three-time member of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) Mohan Chakma of ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) was on Wednesday declared the new chairman of the council after he was elected unopposed, an official said.

He replaced the incumbent chairman H. Amaresh Chakma, who was removed in a no-confidence motion during the recently concluded budget session of the council on March 26, the official said.

The filing of nomination for the chairman post was notified on Tuesday and the election was scheduled on Wednesday.

However, Mohan Chakma was the lone candidate and accordingly, he was declared elected uncontested on Wednesday, the official said.

Chakma has successfully contested the council poll held in April 2018 from the Parva constituency for the third consecutive term. In the last two terms, he had held the post of an executive member.

Meanwhile, incumbent deputy chairman Mohesh Boran Chakma tendered resignation soon after Mohan Chakma assumed his office.

Also read: Mizoram: Durjya Chakma is new Chakma tribal council CEM

Sources in MNF said that the deputy chairman’s resignation was “voluntary.” He might be assigned for different responsibility, the sources added.

The CADC was created in 1972 for the Chakma tribals living in the southwestern part of Mizoram. Its headquarters is located at Chawngte (Kamalanager) in the Lawngtlai district.

The council has 20 elected members and 4 nominated members. The council is currently headed by Durjya Dhan Chakma, who was sworn in as Chief Executive Member (CEM) on April 6. There are seven executive members in the council.

The council threw up a “hung” house in the 2018 council polls, where the MNF won 8 seats, Congress (6) and BJP (5), while the countermanded Fultuli constituency was later won by Congress.

Later, 4 Congress members had defected to MNF and another 2 to the BJP. The council is not bound by the anti-defection law and is frequently witnessing defection among the members.

On March 26, six BJP members quit the saffron and joined MNF. At present, the MNF has 18 members, while the BJP has only 2 members in the 20-member council.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply