Shillong: With chairpersons heading the regional committees in Meghalaya concerning the border dispute between Assam and Meghalaya, deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong is hopeful that they will be able to resolve the issue in a few areas and reduce the number of areas of differences, if not all the total 12.

Tynsong, who is the chairperson heading the regional committee of Ri-Bhoi district, recently faced criticism for not intervening after the microphone was snatched when a resident at Nongspung area was expressing his concern over the border issue in his area.

Responding to the criticism, Tynsong clarified that there was no issue at all.
“We don’t need to talk much; we are there presenting Meghalaya. Why should I unnecessarily be immature by saying they shouldn’t talk; people are unnecessarily trying to make an issue out of this,” he said.

“Ultimately, we have to take the decision based on geography, history and administratively. There is no issue because both the CMs will sit down and, according to report submitted by the committee, will work out a solution,” the deputy CM added.

The regional committee is expected to submit its findings to Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma on Tuesday, November 30, 2021. However, the report is expected to be submitted this week when the CM will be available.

The government is hopeful that they will be able to reduce the number of area of differences in the state which currently stands at 12. “We are hopeful because both the CMs have shown keenness to resolve this long-pending issue for the interest of both the states. I don’t know out of 6 how many areas we can resolve but I’m sure at least a few will be able to resolve,” he added.

The regional committee was constituted in September and has been formed to examine the present status of the six areas of differences – Tarabari, Gizang and Hahim in West Khasi Hills district, Boklapara and Khanapara-Pilingkata in Ri Bhoi district, and Ratacherra in East Jaintia Hills district.

The regional committee for Ri Bhoi is headed by Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong and includes Cabinet Minister Dasakhiatbha Lamare, Nongpoh MLA Mayralborn Syiem and Jirang MLA Sosthenes Sohtun. 

Public Health Engineering Department Minister Renikton L Tongkhar is the chairperson of the West Khasi Hills regional panel. Other members include Nongstoin legislator Macmillan Byrsat, Mawshynrut legislator Gigur Myrthong and Rambrai Jyrngam legislator Kimfa Marbaniang.  

Transport Minister Sniawbhalang Dhar is the chairperson of East Jaintia Hills regional committee. Home (Police) minister Lahkmen Rymbui, Mowkaiaw MLA Nujorki Sungoh and Sutnga-Saipung MLA Shitlang Pale will be the other members on the panel.

Also read: Charles Pyngrope becomes TMC Meghalaya president

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment