West bengal CM appointed MLA Pyngrope as AITC president

Shillong: The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) chairperson and West Bengal chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday appointed MLA Charles Pyngrope as president of AITC Meghalaya.

All 12 MLAs who defected from Congress last week met with Banerjee and national general secretary, AITC, Abhishek Banerjee in Kolkata. The MLAs elected Pyngrope as the president unanimously.

The appointment of Pyngrope as the TMC president has raised more eyebrows.

The split in the MPCC started after Vincent Pala was appointed as the party president. Sources mentioned that all the 17 Congress MLAs had elected Charles Pyngrope as the president and had signed on it. Changes were later made after the AICC in-charge of Meghalaya, Manish Chatrath, handed it over to the AICC chief. Dr Mukul was upset that he was not consulted and things were done behind his back, the source mentioned.

Earlier, Pala told EastMojo that they (12 MLAs) leaving the party was not because of his appointment and that it was just an excuse, and they left because they were running out of power.

George B Lyngdoh was elected as the Opposition chief whip, and Mawsynram legislator Himalaya M Shangpliang was named secretary and spokesperson.

Also read: IIT-G develops coating to modify cloth masks for better COVID protection

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply