BJP undecided on support to NPP in Meghalaya's GHADC

Shillong: The fate of Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) remains in limbo after none of the parties managed to attain a clear majority in the GHADC elections.

Out of 29 seats, Congress managed to bag 12 seats with Rinaldo K Sangma winning Rongrong seat, Cherak W Momin in Kharkutta, Lahitson M Sangma in Samandagre, and Alphonus R Marak in Williamnagar. From Boldamgre seat, Stevie M Marak emerged as the winner, in Betasing Sonjoy Koch won, in Amongpara won Nehru D Sangma and in Damas came out as the winner Ferdinand Shira. The Dengnakpara constituency was won by Sadhia Rani, Shyamnagar by Habibuz Zaman, Batabari by Ashahel D Shira and Balachanda by Agassi R Marak.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s NPP emerged as winners in 11 seats.

In West Garo Hills, NPP won Babelpara. Asanang, Raksamgre, Naguapara and Jengjal. In South West Garo Hills, it won the Nogorpara seat, and in East Garo Hills, NPP bagged the Darugre seat.

Also Read | GHADC results: Congress, NPP in close contest

In North Garo Hills, the ruling party won from Bolsong constituency and in South Garo Hills, NPP won two seats, Silkigre and Gasuapara.

BJP won the prestigious Tura seat and Barengapara seat. The GNC won Rongrikimgre in South Garo Hills, and three seats were won by independent candidates.

BJP’s Pramod Koch won the Barengapara seat and Bernard Marak won the Tura seat.

Voting for the 29-seat autonomous council was held on April 12 across 409 polling stations.

Total 182 candidates are in the fray whose fate were decided by 7,43,717 voters.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment