Despite cabinet recommendation, Manipur assembly session not held on Monday
Manipur Assembly (file photo).

Imphal: The newly-formed Manipur government on Thursday launched itself in the first session of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly with an address from Governor La Ganesan. The session will continue for three days.

Ahead of the assembly session, elected BJP MLA Thokchom Satyabrata Singh of Yaiskul constituency was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the state Assembly.

Addressing the House, Governor Ganesan said that the government had continued to strengthen and improve the scenario in the state.

“In 2021, in a bid to counter-insurgency measures, the security forces has arrested a total of 234 extremists and neutralised 15 extremists. Also, 14 persons were detained under NSA and 20 insurgents were surrendered,” said the Governor.

Moreover, security forces also recovered the total number of 167 arms, 3,115 assorted ammunition, 253 improvised explosive devices, 27 lathod bombs and 360 numbers of detonators, he added.

Meanwhile, about Rs 1.08 crore were paid as compensation and relief to families of victims of extremists action under Manipur Victims Compensation Scheme during the year, said Governor Ganesan.

He further informed that the state government has given top priority to sensitive cases relating to crime against women and children.

A total of 3,156 FIR cases were registered in the last one year, in which 2,143 criminal cases were disposed of, Governor Ganesan added.

Governor also informed that despite the pandemic continued to present challenges during last year, the proactive efforts of the government to accelerate vaccination programme against COVID-19 went a long way to facilitate opening up of economy and in picking up the pace of developmental works in the state.

More than 10 lakh COVID-19 testings were done in the past one year and over 4,200 samples were also sent for genome sequencing outside the state, informed the Governor.

During the afternoon session on the first day of the assembly, the discussion on the motion of thanks was moved by MLA Dr Sapam Ranjan and seconded by MLA Th Basanta Singh.

Th Satyabrata appointed speaker of 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly

Chief minister N Biren Singh, who is also the leader of the House, tabled Demands for Supplementary Grants 2021-2022 and Budget Estimates 2022- 2023 in the House. The CM also presented the first report of the Business Advisory Committee, 2022. He also laid the Annual report of Manipur Information Commission for the year 2018-2019 and Annual report of Manipur Lokayukta 2020-2021.

After the Governor’s address and motion of thanks to the Governor’s address, Obituary reference was conducted on the demise of the five former members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly. The five former members are Leitanthem Tomba Singh of 31- Thoubal Assembly Constituency, A Aza of 45- Chingai ST/AC, Wahengbam Angou Singh of 21- Naoriya Pakhanlakpa A/C, Mayengbam Manihar Singh of 36- Wabagai A/C and Athuibo Daimai of Aimol A/C.

During the Obituary reference, CM Biren Singh said that losing the prominent members of the Assembly is a great lost for the state. 

“Their deeds and dedicated services to the people will always be remembered,” Singh said.

Opposition Leader Okram Ibobi Singh, MLA Khashim Vashum, MLA Usham Deven Singh and minister Awangbow Newmai also expressed their profound grief and sorrow to the departed souls

Logo on new Bengal school uniform belongs to govt, not TMC: Mamata

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment