Manipur assembly election: Polling underway in 22 seats

Imphal: A total of 28.19 per cent of 8.38 lakh voters Saturday exercised their franchise till 11 am of voting across 22 constituencies in the second and final phase of assembly elections in Manipur.

1 / 7

Voting began at 7 am in 1,247 polling stations across six districts amid tight security and strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols.

No untoward incident has so far been reported from anywhere, election officials said.

Among the early voters were Congress leader and former Manipur chief minister O Ibobi Singh in Thoubal district.

2 / 8

“Congress will definitely win with an absolute majority, but in case we fall short by one or two seats, the party is open for a coalition,” he said after casting his vote.

The electoral fate of 92 candidates will be decided on Saturday, including 12 from the BJP, followed by Congress (18), National People’s Party (11), Janata Dal (United) and Naga People’s Front (10 each).

Polling will continue till 4 pm

Manipur assembly election: Polling underway in 22 seats
3 / 8

India abstains on UNHRC resolution on human rights violations in Russia-Ukraine war

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply