YouTube Poster

Imphal: A total of 78.3 percentage voter turnout was recorded in the first phase of Manipur polls till 5 pm on Monday, said the chief electoral officer Rajesh Agrawal.

According to CEO Manipur, Imphal East reported 76.64% voter turnout while Imphal West recorded 82.19%. Bishnupur recorded 73.44%, Churachandpur 74.45% while Kangpokpi recorded 82.19%. The final polling percentage will be available after the return of the polling parties, said Agrawal.

Meanwhile, voting at 721 polling stations of 38 Assembly Constituencies was held peacefully, except for few incidents of EVM damage and preventive firing in air by security personnel reported from some polling stations of 51-Saitu, 57-Henglep and 60-Singhat Assembly constituencies.

The incidents of damage of EVMs by unknown miscreants were reported from seven polling stations at Leplen under Saikul AC, New Keithelmanbi under Saitu AC, Maite and Irnsuong under Thanlon AC, Leinom under Henglep AC, M.T. Geltam and Maukot under Singhat AC. FIRs have been registered in all these cases, he said.

Meanwhile, polling for 60/10-M.T. Geltam under Singhat AC and 46154- Leplen under 46-Saikul AC commenced with a new set of machines and polling continued.

In an unfortunate incident, one polling personnel detailed for duty at polling station 55/1- Chingmun under ss-Tipaimukh died of a stroke.

As informed by the CEO, there were complaints from certain political parties & candidates during the poll. However, majority of the issues were resolved and prompt actions taken, he added.

The scrutiny of Form 17 A and other documents will be conducted by the Returning Officers in presence of General Observers on March 1, 2022. Decisions on re-polls, if any, shall be decided accordingly, he added.

Also read | What are sanctions? Do they work; could they stop Russia’s invasion of Ukraine?

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply