Imphal: Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Saturday filed his nomination from the Heingang assembly constituency for the upcoming state assembly election.

State BJP chief A Sarda Devi accompanied him along with other party workers at the Imphal East DC office.

Taking to his Twitter handle, CM Biren Singh said, “It gives me immense pleasure to file the nomination as the BJP candidate from Heingang AC at the office of Returning Officer today. I was joined by Smt. @AShardaDevi ji, Pres. @BJP4Manipur. Best wishes to all BJP candidates filing nominations for the upcoming election,” Singh added.

As of Friday, nine candidates have filed their nominations for the state elections. These include four from the BJP, three from the National People’s Party (NPP) and two from the JD(U).

On Friday, deputy speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly and BJP candidate Kongkham Robindro Singh filed his nomination from Mayang Imphal AC.

Meanwhile, two rival candidates from Thangmeiband AC, Kh Joykisan Singh of JD(U) and BJP candidate Jotin Waikhom also filed their nominations on Friday.

The nomination papers from the candidates will be received till February 8 and scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on February 9. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is on February 11.

Manipur will go to the polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3. The counting of votes and declaration of results is on March 10.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply