Imphal: Former Manipur Director General of Police LM Khaute and former decorated cop Th Brinda Devi are among the 30 candidates named by the Janata Dal (United) in the first phase for the upcoming Manipur elections this month.

The candidates have been selected by the party’s core committee for the 12th Manipur State Legislative Assembly 2022. Among the 30 candidates, 21 are from the valley and nine are from the hill districts.

After she had joined the JD(U) on Sunday, Brinda has been fielded from the Yaiskul constituency of Imphal West district. She will be up against sitting BJP MLA Thokchom Satyabrata Singh among others.

Former DGP LM Khaute, who joined the JD (U) on Monday, will be contesting from Churachandpur (ST) constituency.

JD(U) has also fielded businessman-turned-politician Thangjam Arunkumar from Wangkhei constituency. Arunkumar had resigned from the BJP after being denied a ticket and joined JD(U).

The party has also allotted tickets to seven other intending candidates who were denied tickets by the BJP earlier and joined the JD(U) later. They are Dr Kh Loken Singh from Sagolband AC, Sanjay Ahangthem Singh from Kumbi AC, former Chief Secretary O Nabakishore Singh from Bishnupur AC, Ngangbam Robert Singh from Singjamei AC, Ksh Biren Singh from Lamlai AC, Th Swarankumar Singh from Oinam AC and Kh Suresh Singh from Uripok AC.

Former Congress leader Khumukcham Joykisan of Thangmeiband constituency, who joined the party last week, will also be contesting the upcoming polls on a JD(U) ticket. Joykisan was suspended from the primary membership of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee for anti-party activities.

Manipur will go to polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3, and the counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Also read: Myanmar authorities arrest dozens ahead of planned protests

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment