Manipur BJP
Representational image

Imphal: After much speculation, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released the list of 60 candidates, including three women candidates, for the upcoming Manipur Legislative Assembly elections next month.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh will contest from his home assembly constituency Heingang, whereas minister Th Biswajit Singh will contest from the Thongju constituency.

NPP leader and deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh will contest from Imphal West’s Uripok constituency.

Also, Kongkham Robindro Singh will fight against newly-elected Congress working president Ratankumar Singh from the Mayang Imphal constituency. Interestingly, BJP has named former Congress MLA Okram Henry Singh, the nephew of Congress leader O Ibobi Singh, in Wangkhei constituency.

From the hills constituencies, the ruling party BJP has fielded a new face and former president of the Tangkhul Naga Long (TNL) AS Hopingson in Phungyar (ST) constituency.

He will be contesting against NPF MLA and HAC chairman K Leishiyo.

As per the list, BJP has also fielded the former Congress MLA and assembly speaker MK Preshow Shimray in Chingai (ST) AC, currently represented by NPF MLA Khashim Vashum.

Former NPP leader and minister Letpao Haokip, who had recently joined the Saffron party, will contest from Tengnoupal (ST). In 2017, Haokip won from Chandel (ST) on an NPP ticket against BJP candidate SS Olish.

Manipur will go to the polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3 and the counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply