The apex court of India set aside an order passed by the Speaker of Manipur Assembly disqualifying three MLAs – Kshetrimayum Biren Singh, Yengkhom Surchandra Singh and Sanasam Bira Singh – for defecting to the Bharatiya Janata Party.

A Supreme Court bench comprising Justice UU Lalit, S Ravindra Bhat and Bela M Trivedi reportedly remanded the petition for disqualification to the speaker Y Khemchand Singh.

The MLAs had been elected to the Assembly in 2017 on Congress Party tickets but they gave their membership to support the BJP to strengthen the coalition government in the state. Their participation in various BJP events was being shown as proof of their dejection to BJP.

The High Court in its judgement held that the speaker had passed a disqualification order taking into account the appeals, newspaper reports and other proofs confirming the same.

Also read: Manipur: Governor dismisses petition to disqualify 12 MLAs holding ‘office for profit’

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment