Manipur: 12 NPF executives of Chandel division join BJP

Imphal: Ahead of the ensuing Manipur Legislative Assembly elections next year, 12 executive members of Naga People’s Front (NPF) Party of Chandel unit Tuesday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

While felicitating the new members into the BJP fold, Chief Minister N Biren Singh said that their joining is a testament to the ever-growing acceptance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s politics of development.

The 12 NPF executives who have switched allegiance to the saffron party include ex-MLA candidate TS Warngam, TS Molarshing, SK Shemy, D Anthony, Th Angthung, Asem Kom, Sn Semler, Hopeson Saka, KC Ahanjoy, Hb Lawrence, SK Lovingson and Thungamden.

CM Biren Singh said that NPF is an alliance with the BJP government. The relationship between the BJP and the NPF is still good and there will be no grudges between the two parties, he said.

While appealing to all to not hold grudges when people join the party of their choice, Singh said that the BJP and NPF will go together in the next term too.

The chief minister also stated that many politicians from different parties have approached them to join the BJP. However, he said, the matter will be discussed and finalised by November with due approval from the central leaders.

At present, the NPF has four MLAs in the BJP-led government in Manipur.

Also read: 11,903 new COVID-19 cases, 311 deaths in India

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment