Imphal: Manipur Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Rajesh Agrawal on Monday announced the starting of Special Summary Revision (SSR) with reference to 01-01-2022 as the qualifying date during a press conference held at CEO Office, Lamphelpat.

The SSR campaign will conclude on November 30, 2021.

During the SSR period, four special campaigns will be conducted on November 13, 14, 27 and 28. All Booth Level Officers (BLOs) will be present at their respective polling stations for any kind of enquiry, fresh registration and other electoral roll-related issues.

During this special campaign, registration of voters in the age group 18-21 will be given emphasis to capture maximum number of new young voters in the electoral roll, the CEO said.

During the press conference, CEO Agrawal informed that one can also enroll, delete from, make corrections and apply for transposition of his/her name in the electoral roll during this period.

Application forms may be submitted to the Electoral Registration Officers, Assistant Electoral Registration Officers and Booth Level Officers through physical forms. Application forms may also be submitted online at (1) www.nvsp.inand (3) Voter Helpline Mobile App.

The CEO highlighted the imbalance status of gender ration among male and female voters. At 10,12,655, female elector’s enrollment is higher than that of males which stands at 9,55,657. In this regard, the CEO sought cooperation from the media for spread awareness amongst male voters to get themselves registered.

With the sole objective of giving maximum awareness to the electors, an “I AM READY” Campaign under Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) has been launched from September 3, 2021. Further, 11 state icons from diverse fields have been identified and have started engaging them for various activities. The state icons will be campaigning for mass registration of 18-21 age group of new voters and other left out eligible voters during the ongoing SVEEP Campaign, the CEO said.

Agrawal also mentioned First level Checking (FLC) of EVMs, which has started in all the 11 Electoral Districts. Among the 11 Electoral Districts, Jiribam has already completed the process of FLC. The CEO further appealed the media houses to spread maximum awareness among the political parties to join the FLC process to avoid any apprehension regarding the functioning of election mechanism system.

He said three state government senior officers namely Devesh Deval, IAS, T Ranjit Singh, IAS, and M Harekrishna, IAS, have been appointed as Electoral Roll Observers.

The Manipur CEO said a team from ECI led by Nitesh Vyas, Deputy Election Commissioner, visited the state on October 27 to oversee the preparedness.

Besides interacting with the Returning Officers & State Nodal Officers, he also held a meeting with Chief Secretary and Director General of Police and discussed various issues, including security aspects.

The press conference was also attended by Additional CEO, Manipur, Naorem Praveen Singh, Joint CEO, Manipur, Ramananda Nongmeikapam, Joint CEO, Manipur, Md Daulat Khan, Database Administrator (CEO), L Sujata Devi and Coordinator, Permanent Media Cell & State Nodal Officer for Media, W Phajatombi and other officials. 

Also read: Odisha imposes fishing ban in olive ridley turtle sea corridor

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply