Senior BJP leader La Ganesan sworn in as 17th governor of Manipur

Imphal: Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former Rajya Sabha MP La Ganesan took oath as the 17th governor of Manipur on Friday.

The oath of office was administered by the Chief Justice of Manipur High Court, PV Sanjay Kumar, at a simple function in Raj Bhavan, Imphal.

Chief minister N Biren Singh, deputy CM Y Joykumar, cabinet ministers and senior officials, including chief secretary Rajesh Kumar, were presented on the occasion.

La Ganesan being sworn in as the 17th governor of Manipur on Friday

La Ganesan was appointed as Governor of Manipur by President of India on Sunday, after Najma Heptulla, who assumed office on August 21, 2016, retired earlier this month.

A communique from Rashtrapati Bhavan had earlier said that Ganesan will be the new “Governor of Manipur with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office”.

Also read | Mirabai Chanu to endorse Adidas’ TechFit period-proof tights

Heptulla had demitted office on August 10 and on the same day the charge was given to Sikkim Governor Ganga Prasad.

Born on February 16, 1945 in temple town Tanjore, is a former RSS pracharak. He was nominated as a Rajya Sabha MP from Bhopal constituency and served for a brief period of 18 months.

He is a member of the national executive committee of BJP since 1991.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply