Six Congress MLAs submitted resignation letters to the Speaker in Imphal on Monday evening
Six Congress MLAs submitted resignation letters to the Speaker in Imphal on Monday evening|File image

Manipur: 6 Cong MLAs, including ex-CM Ibobi’s nephew, resign from party

Wangkhei MLA O Henry Singh cites lack of trust in party leadership under Okram Ibobi Singh as reason for resignation

Vangamla Salle K S

Vangamla Salle K S

Imphal: In yet another political development in Manipur, six elected legislators of the Congress submitted their resignation to state Legislative Assembly Speaker Khemchand Yumnam on Monday.

The resignation letter of the six Congress MLAs was submitted around 12:55 pm at the Assembly and later the Speaker summoned them for final confirmation after the one-day assembly session.

The news was confirmed by MLA O Henry Singh, the nephew of the former chief minister and CLP leader Okram Ibobi Singh, on Tuesday to EastMojo on phone.

Henry Singh, who is the MLA of Wangkhei assembly constituency, cited lack of trust in the party leadership under CLP leader Ibobi Singh as the reason for their resignation.

"There was a trial for the strength of the government and around 30 days ago, the same trial happened though Congress has the single largest party in the state. So, we have lost the trust of the leadership," said MLA Henry.

The other five Congress MLAs who resigned from the party are MLA Oinam Lukhoi of Wangoi, MLA Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong, MLA Paonam Brojen of Wangjing Tentha, MLA Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu and MLA Ginsuanhau of Singhat.

They are among the eight Congress legislators who did not attend the assembly session despite the party leader issuing a whip to all the party MLAs to attend and vote based on their party’s line on trust motion moved by the chief minister N Biren Singh.

The other Congress MLAs who abstained the assembly session are Md Fajur Rahim and Yamthong Haokip, since both of them are currently undergoing paid quarantine. They returned from New Delhi on August 8.

MLA Henry also hinted that more Congress legislators are likely to resign from the party in days to come. However, he did not divulge more on the issue.

According to MLA Henry, he and a few other MLAs who resigned from the Congress would be joining the BJP, while others are likely to go with a different party.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.