The court has granted them time to file counter affidavit
The court has granted them time to file counter affidavit |Representational image

Manipur: Disqualification hearing for 7 MLAs set for June 10

Affidavit was filed against 7 Manipur MLAs for changing party allegiance; they were elected on Cong tickets in 2017 assembly elections but later joined BJP

Vangamla Salle K S

Vangamla Salle K S

Imphal: A single bench of Manipur High Court on Thursday fixed the next hearing for disqualification case against the seven Congress defector MLAs on June 10.

The court has granted time to file counter affidavit to seven MLAs filed against by Congress MLAs. The ordered was passed by justice Kh Nobin after hearing both the parties.

The petitions were filed by Congress MLAs against O Lukhoi, Ksh Biren, P Brojen, Ngamthang Haokip, Ginsuanhau and Y Surchandra.

The affidavit was filed against the seven MLAs for changing their party allegiance and supporting BJP. These MLAs were elected in Congress tickets in 2017 state assembly elections but later they joined the BJP.

During the hearing, the respondent were requested for a period of three weeks time for filing the counter affidavit. However, the prayer was objected by the counsels appearing for the petitioner on the ground that the respondents are buying time so that the election of the Rajya Sabha can be held.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.