Chhath Puja, one of India’s biggest ancient vedic festivals dedicated to the solar deity, is upon us and on this day women observe fasts to seek blessings for the well-being and the happiness of the family.

The festival that lasts up to four days beginning with Nahay Khay on Shukla Paksha Chaturthi Tithi of Kartik month and ends with Usha Arghya on Saptami Tithi.

Day 1: Nahay Khay Muhurat

The first day of Chhath Puja is Nahay Khay. The women who observe fast on this day take a holy dip in Ganga and consume only a single meal. This year, it falls on November 8. The sunrise will take place at 6:46 am and timing for sunset is 5:26 pm.

Day 2: Kharna Muhurat

The second day of Chhath festival is known as Kharna, when women observe a day-long fast from sunrise till sunset without consuming any water. The fast is broken just after sunset by offering food to the Sun and Chhathi Maiya.

The Kharna will be observed on November 9 and the sunset and sunrise timings are 06:39 am and 05:30 pm, respectively.

Day 3: Sandhya Arghya Muhurat

The third day is known as Sandhya Arghya. On this day, devotees observe a full-day fast without any water. Arghya is also offered to the setting Sun on this day. This is the only day when Arghya is offered to the setting Sun. The Chhath fasting continues throughout the night and the Parana is done on the next day after sunrise.

The Sandhya Arghya will be observed on November 10 and the sunrise will take place at 06:40 am, while the timing for sunset is 05:30 pm.

Day 4: Usha Arghya Muhurat

The fourthday of Chhath Puja, also called Usha Arghya when Arghya is offered to the rising Sun. The 36-hou-long fast is broken after offering Arghya to the Sun.

This year, Usha Arghya will be observed on November 11. The sunrise and sunset timings are predicted to be 06:41 am and 05:29 pm, respectively.

Also read: Chhath Puja 2021: Six recipes you must try during the festival

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply