Screening underway across Northeast
Screening underway across Northeast|Representational image

COVID-19: Meghalaya govt imposes restrictions on entry to state

In pursuance of Meghalaya Epidemic Diseases (COVID-19) Regulations, 2020, entry of people to state restricted; to be allowed only from 11 designated locations

Princess Giri Rashir

Princess Giri Rashir

Shillong: The chief secretary has announced that in pursuance of the provisions of the Meghalaya Epidemic Diseases, COVID-19 Regulations, 2020, it has been decided that entry of people to Meghalaya should be restricted.

Entry will be allowed, henceforth, only from 11 locations. These include Ratacherra in East Jaintia Hills, Saitsama, Umransu and Dawki in West Jaintia Hills, Byrnihat in Ri Bhoi, Dainadubi and Bajengdoba in North Garo Hills, Phulbari, Tikrikilla and Dalu in West Garo Hills, and Garodoba in South West Garo Hills.

All people entering Meghalaya are required to mandatorily register on the COVID-19 monitoring system (, in addition to undergoing health screening as required by the authorities. Proof of registration, either a system generated acknowledgement or an SMS confirming registration should be checked at all entry points. In case of any technical challenges, registration can also be done on paper at the point of entry.

All deputy commissioners and Superintendents of Police are to put in place a system so that the registration and checking at the entry points is done in an orderly manner.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.